List of FIFA Ballon d’or winners from 1956 till present – world best footballer of all time

FIFA Ballon d’or winners -The FIFA Ballon d’Or is an annual association football award presented to the world’s best men’s player from 1956 till date. A fusion between France Football’s Ballon d’Or and the FIFA World Player of the Year award, it was considered the most prestigious individual honour in world football.

FIFA Ballon d’or winners
The FIFA Ballon d’Or was awarded based on votes from international journalists and national team coaches and captains, who selected the players they deemed to have performed the best in the previous calendar year.

The six editions of the FIFA Ballon d’Or were dominated by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, as part of their ongoing rivalry. Barcelona’s Messi won the inaugural Ballon d’Or in 2010, before retaining the title twice.

FIFA Ballon d’or winners
Ronaldo, who plays for Real Madrid, won successive awards in the next two years. The final FIFA Ballon d’Or was presented to Messi in 2015. Its awarding bodies subsequently ended their partnership, restoring the previous formats of their respective awards.

Now lets take a look at the all past winners of Ballon d’Or (now FIFA Ballon d’Or) award. From 1956 only european players were eligible but in 1995 any nationality player playing for a european club was eligible.

FIFA Ballon d’or winners

2015     Lionel Messi     Argentina     FC Barcelona
2014     Cristiano Ronaldo     Portugal     Real Madrid
2013     Cristiano Ronaldo      Portugal     Real Madrid
2012      Lionel Messi     Argentina     FC Barcelona
2011     Lionel Messi      Argentina     FC Barcelona
2010     Lionel Messi      Argentina     FC Barcelona
2009     Lionel Messi      Argentina     FC Barcelona
2008     Cristiano Ronaldo      Portugal     Manchester United
2007     Kaká       Brazil     AC Milan
2006     Fabio Cannavaro      Italy     Real Madrid/Juventus
2005     Ronaldinho      Brazil     Barcelona
2004     Andriy Shevchenko      Ukraine     AC Milan
2003     Pavel Nedvěd      Czech Republic     Juventus
2002     Ronaldo      Brazil     Real Madrid
2001     Michael Owen      England     Liverpool
2000     Luís Figo      Portugal     Real Madrid
1999     Rivaldo      Brazil     Barcelona
1998     Zinedine Zidane      France     Juventus
1997     Ronaldo      Brazil     Inter Milan
1996     Matthias Sammer      Germany     Borussia Dortmund
1995     George Weah      Liberia     AC Milan
1994     Hristo Stoichkov      Bulgaria     Barcelona
1993     Roberto Baggio      Italy     Juventus
1992     Marco van Basten      Netherlands     AC Milan
1991     Jean-Pierre Papin      France     Marseille
1990     Lothar Matthäus       Germany     Inter Milan
1989     Marco van Basten      Netherlands     AC Milan
1988     Marco van Basten      Netherlands     AC Milan
1987     Ruud Gullit      Netherlands      AC Milan
1986     Igor Belanov      Soviet Union     Dynamo Kyiv
1985     Michel Platini      France     Juventus
1984     Michel Platini      France     Juventus
1983     Michel Platini      France     Juventus
1982     Paolo Rossi       Italy     Juventus
1981     Karl-Heinz Rummenigge      Germany     Bayern Munich
1980     Karl-Heinz Rummenigge      Germany     Bayern Munich
1979     Kevin Keegan     England     Hamburg
1978     Kevin Keegan      England     Hamburg
1977     Allan Simonsen      Denmark     Borussia M”nchengladbach
1976     Franz Beckenbauer      Germany     Bayern Munich
1975     Oleg Blokhin      Soviet Union     Dynamo Kyiv
1974     Johan Cruyff      Netherlands     Barcelona
1973     Johan Cruyff      Netherlands     Barcelona
1972     Franz Beckenbauer      Germany     Bayern Munich
1971     Johan Cruyff       Netherlands     Barcelona
1970     Gerd Müller      Germany     Bayern Munich
1969     Gianni Rivera      Italy     Milan
1968     George Best      Northern Ireland     Manchester United
1967     Flórián Albert      Hungary     Ferencv rosi TC
1966     Bobby Charlton     England     Manchester United
1965     Eusébio      Portugal     Benfica
1964     Denis Law      Scotland     Manchester United
1963     Lev Yashin      Soviet Union     Dynamo Moscow
1962     Josef Masopust      Czechoslovakia     Dukla Prague
1961     Omar Sívori      Italy     Juventus
1960     Luis Suárez      Spain     Barcelona
1959     Alfredo Di Stéfano      Spain     Real Madrid
1958     Raymond Kopa     France     Real Madrid
1957     Alfredo Di Stéfano      Spain     Real Madrid
1956     Stanley Matthews     England     Blackpool

FIFA Ballon d’or winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *